Community Honours

The Manawatu District Council has an award scheme to recognise the significant voluntary contributions made to the community by individual citizens.

Nominees will have carried out meritorious service in spheres of community service, welfare, sport, culture, the arts, recreation, or education.

Nominations may be made by individuals or organisations.

Community Honours Award Policy - as adopted 21 May 2015

Nominations are now open and will close on Sunday 30 June 2019 at 4pm.

Successful recipients will be recognised at a special ceremony in September with family, friends and members of Council in attendance.

Nomination forms and guidelines are available from the Manawatu District Council, 135 Manchester Street, Feilding, by email to, by downloading the online form below or by writing to:

Chief Executive
Manawatu District Council
Private Bag 10 001
Feilding 4743

Community Honours Nomination Form

Forms can be emailed to


Past recipients of Manawatu District Community Honours:

2018  Jim Howard, Beverley Hoggard, John Samuela, George Annear & Catherine Brown
2017  Bill and Marion Abbiss, Sally Reed, Ann Williamson
2016  Janet Bird, Amanda Street, John Brock, Alan Rowe, Richard Bain
2015 George Kereama, Roger and Kaye McKinnon, Dan Paki, Mary Sanson, Marilyn Wightman
2014 George New, Cynthia Drake
2013 Elaine Pinker, Allan Muntz, Russell Harris
2012 Brian Hunter, Bruce Brownlie, Colin Heap, Daphne Sowerby, Elsa Stern, Frank Dew, Graham Kitchen, John Fuller, Maurice Watt, Pat Snoxell, Ray Bramwell, Richard McAllister
2011 Glennis de Malmanche, Norman Lind, John Parker
2010 Pat Ashton, Eric Brew, Ivan Mandahl
2009 Mervyn Craw, Ngaire Hancock, Jacqueline Sayers, Esmae & David Stroud, Christopher Wall
2008 Peter Easther, Judy Jack, Thomas Rowe
2007 Jac Bos, Ruth Dalzell, Neil Finch, Derek Tuck
2006 Peter Ellery, Grahame Guy, Marjorie Shannon
2005 Doug Chappell, Margaret McMillan, Braedan Whitelock
2004 Lloyd & Barbara Billinghurst, Ivan Morton, Tony Mossop
2003 William Lester, Pearl Lawton, Delphine Parker
2002 Pat Prince, Diana Macdonald, Russell Wiseman
2001 Margaret Bowler, Peter Olsen, Glenys & Trevor Holtham
2000 Alan Hancock, Ken Pemberton, Colin & Helen Trotter
1999 Alan Mason, Chris Russell
1998 Betty Williamson, Robert Passey
1997 Florence Roberts, Baba Perigo, Georgina Stack
1996 Harry Ellison, Shirley Pearpoint, Myra Renata
1995 Peter Buckendahl, Hauturu (Ned) Lawton, Keitha McKendry
1994 Alfred Crowe, Ilene Short, Lindsay Taylor
1993 Del Gibb, Alex Gracie, John Malcon
1992 Alan Groombridge, Nancy Parsons, Elva Sandilands
1991 Kathleen Cox, Lachlan Fraser, Harry Heap