Electoral System

Electoral System

This page provides information about the electoral system used by the Manawatu District Council.

Current electoral system

At its meeting held 21 July 2011, the Council agreed that the electoral system to be used for the triennial general elections of the Council would be the First Past the Post (FPP) system. 

A public notice of the right of the public to demand a poll to countermand the resolution was given on 19 September 2014. No demand was received.

This decision applies to both the 2013 and 2016 elections and continues in effect until either the Council makes a further resolution on the matter, or a poll of electors is held.

The next opportunity to change the system of election will be in 2017.  Under the requirements of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Council may, not later than 12 September in the year that is 2 years before the year in which the next triennial general election is to be held, resolve that the next 2 triennial general elections of the local authority and any associated election, will be held using a specified electoral system other than that used for the previous triennial general election.