Check us out on Neighbourly
Follow us on Instagram
Like us on Facebook
Send us an email

Nga Manu Taiko Manawatu District Council


Chairperson: Councillor Alison Short

Deputy Chairperson: Appointed as and when required at meeting when chair is absent


  • Five appointed representatives of the Manawatu District Council being Her Worship the Mayor Helen Worboys, Councillors Stuart Campbell, Hilary Humphrey, Phil Marsh and Alison Short
  • Twelve Marae representatives, being one appointed representative by Tangata Whenua from the following Marae:
    • Aorangi
    • Kauwhata
    • Kotuku
    • Paranui
    • Parewahawaha
    • Poupatate
    • Te Au
    • Te Rangimarie
    • Taumata O Te Ra
    • Te Hiiri
    • Te Iwa
    • Te Tikanga

Whakapapa / History

The Manawatū District is home to a number of Marae.  In recognition of the important part they play within the community and because of a request from a Tangata Whenua Representative Group, Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council (previously known as Marae Consultative Standing Committee) was established in 1998.

In 2015, Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council established Te Kaunihera Working Group as a means of working through specific outcomes.  This Working Group reports directly to Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council.

The principal purpose of Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council is to liaise between Council and local Tangata Whenua.

Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council represents the interests of Tangata Whenua – the people of the land, as well as those with mana whenua status within the Manawatū District and is inclusive of all Māori in our community.

A continuing focus for Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council will be to ensure:

  • that all Māori of the district are represented

  • that all Māori are able to contribute to Council decision making

  • that Council is liaising with the people who have mana whenua

Membership of Ngā Manu Tāiko Manawatū District Council comprises one member from Aorangi, Kauwhata, Parewahawaha, Poupatate, Te Rangimarie, Taumata O Te Ra, Te Hiiri, Te Tikanga, Kotuku and Te Iwa Marae and the hapū of Ngāti Te Au and Ngāti Turanga, along with five elected members appointed by Council with the Chairperson being appointed by the Committee.


1      To facilitate dialogue between the Manawatū District Council and Tangata Whenua with the representatives being responsible for representing and reporting the position of their respective bodies.

2      To identify issues and the processes for dealing with those issues.

3      To consider and decide Urupa grant applications

Delegated Authority

Committee delegated authority to act on all matters within its Terms of Reference (except those excluded by Clause 32(1) Schedule 7, Local Government Act 2002).


Eight members of the committee, including at least two elected members.

Meeting Cycle

Meetings held bi-monthly on the second Tuesday of every second month at 6.00pm.

Click here to view agendas and minutes.