Check us out on Neighbourly
Follow us on Instagram
Like us on Facebook
Send us an email

District Licensing Committee

The Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 (the Act) requires territorial authorities (TAs) to establish a district licensing committee (DLC). TAs can have more than one DLC for their area. DLCs will be committees of the TA and replaced district licensing agencies (DLAs) on 18 December 2013.

Manawatu District Council have established one District Licensing Committee.

The role of DLCs

DLCs will decide applications for:

  • new and renewed licences and managers’ certificates, regardless of whether these are contested
  • temporary authorities and temporary licences
  • variation of licences, and
  • most enforcement action for special licences

Contested applications are applications opposed by licensing inspectors, Police or Medical Officers of Health, or objected to by members of the public. Only people with a greater interest than the public generally can object to licence applications.

DLC membership

Each DLC will have a chair (either an elected member or a commissioner), and two members appointed from the list of people approved by the TA to sit on its DLC(s). Two or more TAs can establish a joint list.

List members must have experience relevant to alcohol licensing matters but cannot be:

  • people who may be biased due to involvement in the alcohol industry, or
  • constables, Medical Officers of Health, inspectors and employees of that TA

Manawatu DLC membership list

Role Name Appointed Expires
Commissioner R J Titcombe 18 October 2018 18 October 2023
Member Barbara Cameron 18 October 2018 18 October 2023
Member Jo Heslop 18 October 2018 18 October 2023
Member Clive Asplin 18 October 2018 18 October 2023
Member John Baxter 18 October 2018 18 October 2023
Member Alison Short 21 November 2019 21 November 2024

Contact us:

Click here to view recent Manawatu District Licensing Committee decisions.