State Highways In Our District

There are four State Highways that run through the Manawatu District Council area, many have local names as well as their SH number:

  • SH1 - Wellington Road, Dundas Road
  • SH3 - Rangitikei Line
  • SH54 - Kairanga Bunnythorpe Road, Milson Line, Camerons Line, Waughs Road, Aorangi Street, Kimbolton Road, Cheltenham Hunterville Road
  • SH56 - Pioneer Highway, Rangitane Road

NZTA are responsible for the maintenance and repair of State Highways, including signage and open roadside drainage. Please contact NZTA on 0800 444 449 to report any issues on the State Highway network.

Manawatu District Council is responsible for the maintenance of footpaths, berms and the kerb and channel on State Highways within Urban 50km zones (Feilding and Sanson) please contact Manawatu District Council on 06 323 0000 to log a maintenance request for these areas.

State Highway map in Manawatu